I Just Feel Dirty

I voted Democrat today for the first time in my life. And I feel absolutely horrible about it.  Since I voted Democrat today, I’ll think like a Dem and blame the system.  My reasoning, which pre-dated Rush’s call for Texans to vote Hillary, was solid. If Hillary and Obama remained locked after today, the Democrats wouldn’t be able to lock their nomination till late August in Denver. That means the Democratic nominee would only have six weeks to launch a national convention. (I don’t remember where I read this, maybe someone on RCP mentioned it, but it stuck) Plus their nomination process would be ugly. I envisioned an embittered party, many staying home because Hillary had somehow wrangled the nomination away from the Obamanites.  Democrat grudges die-hard. Just look back at the 2000 election and a “selected not elected” Hillary could have a hard time winning back the jilted.  Add to that, even if Hillary didn’t win and it was Obama, the Democratic nominee would only have six or so weeks to run a national campaign, giving John McCain one hell of a head start. 

There was something else this last week. Bitterness. This was an big o’l Texas F@*K you to those independents that screwed with our primaries in the early states. Here I am, stuck with John McCain as my front-runner and eventual nominee, because of this damn primary process. I’m beginning to come around to the idea of a one day “get it done” primary.

So armed with this firm reasoning, I declared myself a Democrat for a day, and voted for Hillary.

I feel absolutely awful.

Last night I had been interviewed about my political beliefs. I had to explain why voting was so important to someone who has never voted in his adult life.  I saw the Republican ballot; John Cornyn needed my vote today, as did some well-meaning Republicans that have spent time and money trying to get my vote. Here I was voting in the wrong primary to mess up the other side. That shouldn’t be the goal of voting. It should be about casting a “yes” vote for your guy who ever that may be.  I didn’t do that today.  It’s almost like I’ve reduced my vote to a parlor game.

3 Responses

  1. This is the second blog I’ve ran across with this post. it’s funny!

  2. Yeah, I’m laughing all the way to the bottom of this bottle.

Leave a Reply

