William F. Buckley 1925 – 2008

Rest in Peace, sir. And thank you.

I love this quotation:

  • I will not cede more power to the state. I will not willingly cede more power to anyone, not to the state, not to General Motors, not to the CIO. I will hoard my power like a miser, resisting every effort to drain it away from me. I will then use my power, as I see fit. I mean to live my life an obedient man, but obedient to God, subservient to the wisdom of my ancestors; never to the authority of political truths arrived at yesterday at the voting booth. That is a program of sorts, is it not? It is certainly program enough to keep conservatives busy, and liberals at bay. And the nation free.
  • Nice Deb has a roundup of links regarding the man and his passing.

    I’ve only read a couple of books by WFB, though I read his articles on NRO regularly. Perhaps that’s something I shall have to remedy.

    Getting It Right was an okay story, written as Buckley spoke, and an invaluable resource for the history of conservativism in the 50’s and 60’s. Of course, any political history of that time period had to include William F. Buckley and Buckley didn’t shrink from that. To his credit, you almost forget that the author is writing fiction about a character meeting him. I’d recommend it for anyone getting into Buckley’s writing now.

    Update:

    I’m not Catholic so I wasn’t sure which version of this was more appropriate, but since he was,  here you go:

    and

    nicest version of each I could find.

    Leave a Reply

