Why On God’s Green Earth?

Drudge just broke the story of Prince Harry serving in Afghanistan.

My question is “why?”.  Apparently there was an agreement with the press to keep this a secret.  My kudos to the press for actually keeping a secret; I wish I could say the same for Drudge.

I’m not much into the royals, but I admire Prince Harry for his service. Prince Harry got a lot of slack for not being allowed to serve in Iraq, where he wanted to go. The Brit’s brass thought of the risk not only to him, but also to his fellow soldiers, and to England. It made sense.  So, they sent him to Afghanistan, and told no one. Which was smart move on their part. He’ll be able to fulfill his obligation. Now, they’re most likely going to have to pull him out. 

We chastised the New York Times for breaking the story on wiretapping because of the National Security Risk and Drudge should be held to the same standard. He’s caused a potential risk to a staunch ally in our War on Terror and has given the Taliban a potential target.  Could you imagine if they “get” him? What kind of victory that would be for their side? We’re talking about third in line for the throne in England.

I’m a big fan of Drudge. In fact he’s the first site I pull up when I get online. I want him out there getting the story, and breaking the news. Though I always expected a certain amount of discretion in his editoral decisions.

3 Responses

  1. Fixed that font issue for ya.

  2. Thanks.

  3. The answer to your question is that getting scoops is key to his business. To paraphrase Tony Montana:

    “First you get the scoopage, then you get the ad revenue, then you get the women.”

    Or something like that.

Leave a Reply

