Invisible airwaves crackle with life

…and also arson. 

Presidential Nominee Dave in TX posted this yesterday at Ace’s.

Kid burns down radio station because they changed his playlist.

Not his fault, though. Austin has a brain cloud over it that slowly kils your cerebral cortex. Dave calls the kid a goofball, I dunno. He was just sticking it to The Man. Fighting for the integrity of Mellow Down Easy and standing up – no, I can’t keep a straight face. What a ‘tard.

I worked in radio for a while and have a lot of fond memories of it. I had to give it up because none of those fond memories invovled the paycheck. (Big name guys like Mark Davis or Kidd Kraddick don’t actually get paychecks – the stations just back up Uhauls full of cash and have topless blondes shower them with the Benjamins until they say when. Not so for the after hours guys or in the small markets like I was.)Still, it was cool…especially during tornado season when you’re the EBS station. Local football games were fun to engineer, if not announce. I produced a lot of commercials which may still be bouncing around the ionosphere. And we had a 3 hour satellite program with no local commercials so I could just slap the board into audition and crank whatever tunes we had laying about. Good times. I’ll have to bore you reminisce about it in later posts.

And for no reason at all, and certainly not to encourage you to incinerate your place of work:

3 Responses

  1. Tom Petty is one of my all-time faves!

  2. Hey you!

    I’m putting you on my blogroll since I’m on yours.

  3. Hey Nice Deb,

    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

