John McCain’s “Common Sense”

WASHINGTON (Reuters) – Arizona Sen. John McCain, taking the first step toward a 2008 White House bid, said on Thursday a return to principles of limited government and “common sense conservatism” would carry Republicans back to power after last week’s election drubbing.

“We lost our principles and our majority. And there is no way to recover our majority without recovering our principles first,” McCain told the Federalist Society, a conservative legal group, in the first of two high-profile speeches kicking off his expected presidential campaign.

You know, John, I’d love to believe that you mean this and all but I’m just not gonna vote for you. I don’t think I can learn to say your name without putting “Feingold” after it. And all that that entails.

“I work in Washington and I know that money corrupts. And I and a lot of other people were trying to stop that corruption. Obviously, from what we’ve been seeing lately, we didn’t complete the job. But I would rather have a clean government than one where quote First Amendment rights are being respected that has become corrupt. If I had my choice, I’d rather have the clean government.”

– John McCain

Ya see, John, what you got there is called a false dichotomy. We don’t have to choose between the First Amendment and clean government. Freedom of Speech actually helps clean up the government, even with a liberal media staffed with semi-literate j-school grads and jihadist stringers. Restricted Freedom of Speech or Freedom of the Press enables further corruption, because no one can report that to the voters.

The fact that you either don’t get or don’t think I do is why I can never vote for you.

Leave a Reply

