Quoting Goldwater

Weird how things go together. So I quoted Barry AuH2O the other day. I found that quote while looking up a different one:

“A Government that is big enough to give you everything you want is also big enough to take away everything you have.”

That quote I first heard on “Penn & Teller Bullsh*t!” – but they attributed it to….guess who? Yup, Penn Gillette intimated that it was Stuff Jefferson Said. Not sure which volume. It took .29 seconds on MSN Search to disabuse that notion. I wonder if they thought it being from Jefferson made it more credible. After all, what my teachers taught us about Goldwater in history class was that he hated African-Americans and wanted to drop H-bombs on Hanoi for giggles. Maybe that was just at my school, though.  

 Anyhoo, today Allah has a link over at Hotair, apparently Goldwater is getting an Extreme Makover: Liberal Edition:

http://hotair.com/archives/2006/08/25/the-lefts-newest-icon-barry-goldwater/

Weird.

Here’s some more Stuff Goldwater Said:

A government that is big enough to give you all you want is big enough to take it all away.
Barry Goldwater

American business has just forgotten the importance of selling.
Barry Goldwater

Equality, rightly understood as our founding fathers understood it, leads to liberty and to the emancipation of creative differences; wrongly understood, as it has been so tragically in our time, it leads first to conformity and then to despotism.
Barry Goldwater

Extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice. And moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue.
Barry Goldwater

Hubert Humphrey talks so fast that listening to him is like trying to read Playboy magazine with your wife turning the pages.
Barry Goldwater

I could have ended the war in a month. I could have made North Vietnam look like a mud puddle.
Barry Goldwater

I think any man in business would be foolish to fool around with his secretary. If it’s somebody else’s secretary, fine.
Barry Goldwater

I will offer a choice, not an echo.
Barry Goldwater

I won’t say that the papers misquote me, but I sometimes wonder where Christianity would be today if some of those reporters had been Matthew, Mark, Luke and John.
Barry Goldwater

I would remind you that extremism in the defense of liberty is no vice! And let me remind you also that moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue.
Barry Goldwater

I wouldn’t trust Nixon from here to that phone.
Barry Goldwater

If everybody in this town connected with politics had to leave town because of chasing women and drinking, you would have no government.
Barry Goldwater

If you don’t mind smelling like peanut butter for two or three days, peanut butter is darn good shaving cream.
Barry Goldwater

It’s a great country, where anybody can grow up to be president… except me.
Barry Goldwater

Nixon was the most dishonest individual I have ever met in my life. He lied to his wife, his family, his friends, his colleagues in the Congress, lifetime members of his own political party, the American people and the world.
Barry Goldwater

Remember that a government big enough to give you everything you want is also big enough to take away everything you have.
Barry Goldwater

The income tax created more criminals than any other single act of government.
Barry Goldwater

The only summit meeting that can succeed is the one that does not take place.
Barry Goldwater

To disagree, one doesn’t have to be disagreeable.
Barry Goldwater

To insist on strength is not war-mongering. It is peace-mongering.
Barry Goldwater

We cannot allow the American flag to be shot at anywhere on earth if we are to retain our respect and prestige.
Barry Goldwater

When I’m not a politician, I’ll be dead.
Barry Goldwater

Where is the politician who has not promised to fight to the death for lower taxes- and who has not proceeded to vote for the very spending projects that make tax cuts impossible?
Barry Goldwater

You don’t have to be straight to be in the military; you just have to be able to shoot straight.
Barry Goldwater

You’ve got to forget about this civilian. Whenever you drop bombs, you’re going to hit civilians.
Barry Goldwater

Or how about these?

“I have little interest in streamlining government or in making it more efficient, for I mean to reduce its size. I do not undertake to promote welfare, for I propose to extend freedom. My aim is not to pass laws, but to repeal them. It is not to inaugurate new programs, but to cancel old ones that do violence to the constitution, or that have failed in their purposes, or that impose on the people an unwarranted financial burden. I will not attempt to discover whether legislation is “needed” before I have first determined whether it is constitutionally permissible. And if I should be later attacked for neglecting my constituents’ ‘interests,’ I shall reply that I was informed that their main interest is liberty, and that in that cause I am doing the very best I can.”

“The time has come to recognize the United Nations for the anti-American, anti-freedom organization that it has become. The time has come for us to cut off all financial help, withdraw as a member, and ask the United Nations to find a headquarters location outside the United States that is more in keeping with the philosophy of the majority of voting members, someplace like Moscow or Peking.”

“I ask your help, and the help of all Americans, so that an American president can tell Nikita Khrushchev: ‘You are wrong! Our children will not live under communism. Your children will live under freedom.’ ”

“Throughout history, government has proved to be the chief instrument for thwarting man’s liberty.”

“If I could make one entreaty to my president: it would be to devote yourself to getting the federal government out of the hair of the people and the business of this country, so that we, with our dollars, can put people back to work. The federal government cannot create jobs. It never has. It never will.”

Yep. Big liberal that Barry. Narf.

One Response

  1. Off topic – Help with PM?
    lost password
    Boss Resurfacing
    Boss Resurfacing

Leave a comment