Guilt by Association

I’m going to defer to Thomas Sowell on this:

“Blacks were not enslaved because they were black but because they were available. Slavery has existed in the world for thousands of years. Whites enslaved other whites in
Europe for centuries before the first black was brought to the Western hemisphere. Asians enslaved Europeans. Asians enslaved other Asians. Africans enslaved other Africans, and indeed even today in
North Africa, blacks continue to enslave blacks.”
 

Here’s why I mention this: my fellow bloggers and I were discussing almost this very thing this past July 4th. We were talking about guilt. How Americans are supposed to feel guilty for almost everything these days; from taking the Indians land to Slavery to our current Foreign policy. I say to hell with that. I’m a minority and I’m sure if I go back far enough in my family history “whitey” screwed me somewhere. I don’t believe in guilt by proxy. 

I should shoulder the guilt of being part of two very powerful institutions; the Roman Catholic Church and the United States of America, and still manage to sleep well at night. Yes both these institutions have done things that I find morally suspect like slavery. It is part of their history. It’s part of my history. I will not apologize for either institution or their history. I can only accept their past and promise to that those things that I find morally wrong never happen again.  

One Response

  1. Speaking of Thomas Sowell, I now have a copy of Black Rednecks, White Liberals. Looking forward to some late-night reading this weekend.

Leave a Reply

